PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'General Education' started by NeedHelp, Jan 1, 2009.

1. NeedHelp

NeedHelp New Member

Jan 1, 2009

I am in my second year teaching. I just moved across the country (military wife) and had a really bad semester teaching. I taught first grade and did not get along with the principal AT ALL. I didn't like the things I was expected to do, such as constant workbook pages instead of activities I thought would be more fun and more useful to the children. I decided that I would not be returning to the school after the holidays. I gave my two weeks notice and my time at the school has now ended.

Here is my big concern. In the middle of November, the mother of one of my students accused me of physical abuse against her son. I spoke with the police and child protective services about the case and have not received a decision. The case in discussion was when I broke up a fight between two of my students and I pulled one student off of another. I am certain the case will come back unfounded, so I'm not too concerned about it. However, here is my question. Am I required to alert future employers about an unfounded accusation of abuse? How about a pending accusation? I am worried about this preventing me from finding another position.

PLEASE HELP. I AM EXTREMELY WORRIED AND CONFUSED.

3. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Jan 1, 2009

I honestly have no idea what you should do. The only thing I can advise is to contact your union rep or a lawyer if you don't have a union.

4. pxydst07

pxydst07 Comrade

Jan 2, 2009

I really wish I could help you out. I hope everything works out for you. I would just caution stepping into a fight in the future. I'm sure you already have that thought in your head. However, kids are quick to turn things around to get themselves out of trouble. It's amazing how they can take something and twist it into another thing without even batting an eyelash.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 2, 2009