Please help!

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by wikteacher, Nov 23, 2005.

1. wikteacher

wikteacher Rookie

Nov 23, 2005

Hi everyone! I'm a new poster, but have been visiting these forums for awhile now. You all seem to give great advice, so I thought you might be able to help me with my problem.

I'm a second year teacher this year and am teaching Kindergarten. I also taught K last year and have worked at a daycare since middle school and worked as a teacher's aide at a Headstart center all through college. My problem is this: Our school got a new principal this year. I really like her, but she's done two observations on me so far and while she lists some strengths on them, she spends a LOT more time on "suggestions and comments" (i.e. things I need to fix). Now, don't get me wrong, I totally understand that everyone has things to improve on. However, it is a little depressing to see 5 bullets of strenths and 1 1/2 pages on "suggestions". I could even deal with that, but she keeps saying that I "need to incorportate more curricular elements into my lessons and routines that meet state standards." I don't understand what she means! I've asked her in our post-evaluation meetings and don't seem to get a straight answer. I don't know what to do. She offers to let me team teach with someone, send me to observe other K classes, etc., which could all be really helpful if I knew what I was looking for! When I started at this school last year, I was given little to no guidance as to how set up my room, schedule, curriculum, anything! My evaluations last year were good, with suggestions of course, but when I read it I generally got a positive feeling. Not so much this year. I'm really frustrated because I don't know how or what to change! I am seriously contemplating going back to school in the fall, I don't know if I can do this.