Please help!! Question about job offer

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Sammi2486, Jul 6, 2010.

1. Sammi2486

Sammi2486 Rookie

Jul 6, 2010

Hello All,
    Here is my situation, I am a new teacher and I had a phone interview with a school in another state two weeks ago. The principal offered me the job at that time but explained that HR does the official hiring.
    In those two weeks, I have not heard anything from HR about a written offer. Should I start to worry?
    Also, I am planning on visiting the state where I accepted the job to look for an apartment, the issue here is that the apartments are asking for proof of employment and, obviously, I still don't have an official offer; just verbal. Is it acceptable for me at this point to call HR and ask about the status or not? I'm expected to be moved in by August 10th to begin a new teacher orientation, so I need to get the ball rolling.
    I appreciate any suggestions or sharing of past experiences.
    Thanks so much:)

Sammi2486

3. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Jul 6, 2010

Wow, I would contact the principal and HR immediately, before even visiting the state.

Good luck!

4. teach_4_ever

teach_4_ever Rookie

Jul 6, 2010

I would contact HR and let them know your situation. Maybe they can send you something saying that you will be working there or if the apartment people call they will say you are going to be employed. Good luck!

5. newbie23

newbie23 Comrade

Jul 7, 2010

I worried last year that I would be in your position.

I think a friendly call to the HR office explaining your situation (the P you talked to, position you were offered, date, etc.) would do wonders. Ask what the next steps are in the hiring process and explain your quandry with the apartment. My district gave me a paper stating my starting salary for the year and that it was a 1 year contract with the possibility of renewal. Most apartments need to know that you are not only employed but how much your salary is.