Please help new teacher with "welcome back" letter D:

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by JayNWon, Aug 5, 2018.

1. JayNWon

JayNWon Rookie

Aug 5, 2018

Hi! This will be my first year teaching and I am hired as a 4th grade gifted classroom teacher.
    Writing a "beginning of the year letter" to parents when I was an intern wasn't too hard, because all I had to say was what university I was going to, and how I was going to be co-teaching with my mentor teacher.

But now that this will be my first year being the "teacher" of a classroom, I am totally lost on what I should write on the letter that will be handed out on the open house day. Well, I'm lost because I have no experience in teaching other than the internship experience (and some volunteering experiences/ tutoring, but not in the county), and am not sure what I should include.
    On the bottom is what I have written so far. What are your thoughts about it? How does it sound? What should I add or what should I get rid of? Please help me :(
    Knowing that I could possibly have high demanding parents, I want to make sure this doesn't sound like I'm a newbie who doesn't know how to do anything (which's actually true, but I would at least like to let the parents know that I'll try my best).
    Oh before getting started, I have a question. Should the audience be the students? Or the parents?

I’m Ms.__________!

I can’t express how excited I am to be your teacher this year! I hope you had a great summer break. We will have such a great year together and I would like to start off by letting you know a little about me.