Please HELP! "at-will" charter school question

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Xcited2TEACH1212, Jul 20, 2021 at 5:48 PM.

1. Xcited2TEACH1212

Xcited2TEACH1212 New Member

Jul 20, 2021 at 5:48 PM

Hi,

I am in Northern CA. I wanted some advice for next year. I finished interviewing for a charter school an hour away from where I live. The pay is ok, but one thing that concerned me is their "at-will" policy. They sent me a copy of their contract which states that they can terminate me " at any time without reason and I can do the same" This makes me sad because its my first year teaching. So I am super new and unsure of the rules for teachers. i haven't landed many interviews with a district but I there might be an opening at a district soon. A teacher retired or resigned last minute where I student taught so I was told it may take about a 3 weeks to a month for them to fly the opening and finish their transfer requests. They would have done this sooner but she was taking her sweet time. I know this because my mentor teacher is close to the admin team. So she basically said it is a possible opening for me but she isn't 100% sure because of transfers. The district might just fill that opening with a teacher from another school.

I wanted to know if I could accept the position at the charter school and then in a month (hopefully a few weeks before the new year) if I could resign from the charter or will their be a strike against my credential?

I have been told by friends and family members to take the charter job because there isn't a real position available at my old district. For all I know I get stuck subbing. Does anyone have any idea on these "at- will positions". I wish my credential program and professor actually talked about the different jobs and contracts out there for us newbies..... :(

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jul 20, 2021 at 7:00 PM

First of all, :welcome::atoz_love: