Please critique my resume

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by rtphillips, Mar 15, 2012.

1. rtphillips

rtphillips Rookie

Mar 15, 2012

Hi all. I've read it's best to just put my resume in here for you all to critique. I'm no resume expert, and I'm open to constructive criticism. Gotta make this baby look good for a job fair and interviews to come. One thing that won't come through is the formatting. Does it make a lot of difference how it's formatted? Is anyone willing for me to send it to them via email and critique that? And how about references- I have two professional and two personal, is that good?

Also, I sort of tailored this to international schools to begin with. I removed some small things that might be irrelevant in the states.

OBJECTIVE
    Internationally experienced, professionally licensed teacher seeking elementary level teaching position.

EDUCATION & QUALIFICATIONS

Bachelor of Science (2007); Major: Elementary Education K-6
    (University Name), city, state; Dean’s List
    Overall QPA: 3.32/4.00 - Elementary Education QPA: 3.34/4.00

State of Pennsylvania Teaching License (K-6)

PROFESSIONAL TEACHING EXPERIENCE

(International School Name) – city, South Korea 2008-2010
    Teacher (3rd Grade)
    • Instructed 3rd grade curriculum, planned and implemented units and programs to meet the intellectual, academic, and social needs of a diverse group of learners.
    • Instructed Bible, Math, Reading, Writing and Grammar, Science, Social Studies, and Elementary Chapel.
    • In addition, instructed specials classes (2009-2010): Computer, Physical Education, and Library.
    • Created IEPs for ESL students based on English language ability.
    • Assessed student performance using a variety of formative and summative strategies.
    • Collaborated as part of an accreditation team for the school (2008-2009).
    • Head Coach of Varsity Boys’ basketball team 2008-2010.

(School Name) – city, state April - June 2008