Please critique my cover letter!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ll1301, Jul 11, 2013.

1. ll1301

ll1301 Rookie

Jul 11, 2013

Hi everyone!! I gotta say... writing my cover letter has been the most stressful part of the beginning of the job search. I can't seem to get it right... I feel like it's too long, too short, too wordy, etc.. Can you please critique my cover letter? It's for an elementary teaching position. Please be HONEST! I take all feedback constructively! :) thank you!!!! Here it is...

July 10, 2013

Dear Hiring Manager,

I am pleased to present my resume to you for consideration as an elementary teacher for __ ISD. I have a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas. It is my strong belief and desire to provide all children with an excellent education. I am confident in my ability to be a valuable asset to your school district.

I completed my student teaching in a first grade dual language classroom at M. Elementary School in N.B, Texas this past Spring. Throughout my student teaching experience, I planned and implemented lessons using the Thinking Map structure in the English component of the dual language program. During my student teaching assignment, I developed and maintained new and existing classroom management strategies for 34 students in a Title I school setting. While in a dual language classroom, I was able to practice and incorporate the English Language Proficiency Standards for English language learners in all of the lessons I created. In the Fall of 2012, I completed my field block assignment in a first grade general education classroom at M Elementary School in NB, Texas. During my internship, I conducted Running Reading Records for students of varying reading levels, finished a Developmental Reading Assessment of a third grade student, and created and implemented lessons with a phonological emphasis for 22 students.