Play it safe or take a risk...Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by vacollins, May 9, 2014.

1. vacollins

vacollins Rookie

May 9, 2014

Hello new to the forums here. Need advice as to whether I should leave my current school and go to a new school. I am a special education teacher at a middle school. Currently, I have a long commute about 30 miles to work , mostly highway and no traffic. I just received an offer from another school (high school) about 6 miles from where I live. My top priority is completing my administration internship. The pay and benefits would be the same as the schools are both within the same county.

Also, I plan to only work in my county for another school year as I plan to move to another state. The only reason I didn't move this year is because I want to be vested in my pension plan (need 5 years to be vested and this is only my 4th year of teaching). Otherwise I would more than likely have moved on.

Stay at the same school:
    Pro's:
    Great work environment
    Great work/life balance (very important for special education teachers)
    Supportive teaching community
    Support from administration
    Well behaved students
    One content area to team teach

Cons:
    Longer commute
    More gas

New School:
    Pros:
    Much shorter commute
    Less money spent on gas

Cons:
    Change from middle to high
    Have to learn new school culture and structure
    Expectations will have to be learned
    Would only be there for a year before going to a another new school
    Working condition/environment unknown
    More than likely will have to team teach more than one content area
    May or may not receive support for completing administration internship

Your advice is greatly appreciated...I also posted in the secondary forum, but would like special education teacher feedback.

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

May 9, 2014