Planning, Planning, and more Planning

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by newengltchr, Oct 19, 2014.

1. newengltchr

newengltchr Rookie

Oct 19, 2014

Hi, everyone:

This is my first year as a high school English teacher. I teach grades 10, 11, and 12. So far, I have had a pretty good start to the year despite a few road bumps in the beginning; however, I feel slightly behind when it comes to planning. I can think of multiple teachers who have every week planned up until December break and some up until the end of the year. I tried planning months in advance, but it became too overwhelming. The students at my school are lower than most schools in the surrounding area. Something that might take 1-2 weeks in your school would take 3-5 weeks in my school. Anyways, I always like to have a plan and to have it aligned to the Common Core (although pretty much everything in ELA hits a CC standard), but I am finding it to be too much to plan past one week. Other teachers in the building told me that they didn't have their lessons and units fully completed and aligned to the standards until their third or fourth year teaching.

I'm just wondering what other people think. Next year, I will not have three preps; therefore, I am slightly hesitant to spend a substantial amount of time creating plans for each grade level. Do you think it's okay to plan from week to week? How long did it take you to completely align everything that you're doing? I'm finding that there are things that I've taught that I would not teach again, things that I spent too little time on, things that I spent too much time on, etc. Is this normal as a first year teacher? Thank you.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Oct 19, 2014