Plagiarism

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by teachin4ever, Apr 14, 2009.

1. teachin4ever

teachin4ever Cohort

Apr 14, 2009

I'm curious how you veteran teachers handle students who plagiarize? I teach one literature class and had my students write a research paper on a greek god/goddess. As I was reading through them today, I noticed some of the wording was way more advanced than the writing they usually turn in to me. So, I googled some of the "fishy" sentences and lo and behold, two papers were COMPLETELY plagiarized. They didn't even throw in a different word here or there.

Now, I realize that, perhaps, they may not know exactly what it means to plagiarize. I don't teach English, just literature, however, their English teacher doesn't have them write papers AT ALL, so my P asked if I minded incorporating more writing during literature so they don't go through 7th grade not having written anything. Since I'm a new teacher, I said no problem, but I'm not doing it again next year. I don't think it's fair that I have to teach them not only literature but also, how to write papers, bibliographies, thesis sentences, main ideas, outlines etc. while their English teacher has them diagramming sentences all year. :|

Anyway, I digress. Any insight on the plagiarism topic would be greatly appreciated!

3. jbj913

jbj913 Rookie

Apr 14, 2009

I put my plagiarism policy in my syllabus and make it obvious to notice. And I go on and on about what is plagiarism on the first day and how I am dead serious about it.
    I provide examples of how in college they will kick you out for a semester and you lose your credits and tuition.
    I've had a couple do it this year and double their Fs. And we have a school policy to report to an administrator.
    Three consecutive words or more is plagiarism if not cited correctly.

4. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Apr 14, 2009