pictures

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by newbie0809, Mar 26, 2009.

1. newbie0809

newbie0809 Companion

Mar 26, 2009

I didn't really do this, this year since it's my first year teaching but I noticed other teachers that did and I would like to also. They would take pictures of their class during pajama day, peprallys, for almost every extra activity. I know the pictures are for memories but I was wondering what are some other things I could do with the pictures?

3. treysmom

treysmom Comrade

Mar 26, 2009

Some of the teachers here copy the pictures and run off memory books for their class. They type captions on each page, etc. Makes a great keepsake.

4. oldfashioned

oldfashioned Comrade

Mar 26, 2009

I use pictures in my weekly parent newsletter. I think it creates a little window for parents to see what their children are doing in my classroom. Some teachers post classroom pictures on their class websites, but I made a personal decision years ago never to post my students' pictures on the web. If I get a great picture of a student engaged in a great lesson or activity, I'll stick it in my professional portfolio.

5. McKennaL

McKennaL Groupie

Mar 26, 2009

One of my posts copied from other thread~

My cooperating teachers made a compulation DVD with scenes/photos from the year set to music. They played it at this end of the year ice cream social as families roamed the building. There were to be two showings. The first was crowded...the second was packed because all those who saw it the first time came back...and we ended up having it shown a third time for two families who came late (word got out- and that showing was full too).

You can do it with I-movies or Movie-Maker on the PCs. It sounds more daunting than it is.

To give a burned copy of that dvd to each child would have been a WONDERFUL gift. (More work than cost... but a really nice gift!)