Picky Eater

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by ksmomy, Mar 7, 2007.

1. ksmomy

ksmomy Companion

Mar 7, 2007

I teach 4 year olds and I have a lot of children who are picky eaters. The parents of one of my new students want to bring in food for him to eat when he doesn't like the lunch. The other children would not have additional food. (And some of them don't touch anything on their plates.) I have already let the director know I am uncomfortable with this and tomorrow we have a conference with the parents. Have you guys had any experience with this?

3. GoehringTeaches

GoehringTeaches Comrade

Mar 7, 2007

Unfortunately, I have a lot of experience with this. Do I have an answer? I wish! Relate it to elementary school-if the child doesn't like the school lunch, the parent may choose to pack the lunch solely for the benefit of the child nutritionally. If the other children don't like what is on their plate, then unfortunately they don't eat. Send a letter home to some of the parents that you are concerned that their child is not eating the school lunch and therefore is not as nutritionally nourished as should be. Suggest they pack lunches to alleviate their child's hunger.

4. Christine3

Christine3 Cohort

Mar 7, 2007

Hi Ksmomy,
    I teach 6 yr olds...I have a little boy that is vegan, yes VEGAN. So everyday this is a production for this child at lunch. I feel so bad for the child b/c this is making him feel isolated and different from the crowd at such a young age. Everything this child consumes is soy. It's ashame he won't be able to experience all types of foods like normal children. When I met the parents at a November conference they have warned me that their son was used to their way of eating but in my eyes this child feels like he doesn't fit in. The other kids always shout out "But so-and-so can not have it" they glare right at the child almost like they have power over it.