Picking your battles?

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by Charlie Trahan, Oct 19, 2019.

1. Charlie Trahan

Charlie Trahan Rookie

Oct 19, 2019

So Im new to teaching. Last Tuesday was my first day. The principal said I am absolutely amazing. Most of my kids are shaped up and ready to work. This is an at risk teen charter school and usually the last stop before they leave school altogether. I teach 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th. I have about 1 to 2 probpem students each class but tge rest are great. Sometimes when I tell a child stop talking, picking on so and so etc. I will get an attitude filled comeback. Sometimes they will immediately do what i asked after their comeback and some take me moving them or having to counsel in the hall. For me its picking my battles and attitude can be hard to document however it is still disrespectful to the teacher. For those that work with preteens do you still get onto attitude or long as they do what they are supposed to do let the comment slide? I can hear one of my neighbor teavhers screaming back and forth with them sometimes. In order to shock them I yelled out "disengaging!" And they will for the most part stop.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Oct 19, 2019