Picking a new Advanced Algebra text???

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by atomic, May 28, 2010.

1. atomic

atomic Companion

May 28, 2010

I've been teaching for 11 years, and this is the first time that I've been asked to pick a new textbook.

The students entering the class are coming from low level Algebra 2 classes and some are coming from our middle level Algebra 2 class because they haven't done well.

The first book I was looking at is from Key Curriculum Press. In the first few pages it says that the book is designed for teaching three courses...

1. Core Algebra 2
    2. Algebra 2 with trig
    3. Algebra 2 with stats

Is the "Advanced Algebra" text supposed to be a replacement for a traditional Algebra 2 class?

It doesn't say what course the student using this book should have had before or what course they are expected to be going to next.

I think the book is not what i need to teach an Advanced Algebra class. It seems like it will just end up being a total repeat of Algebra 2.

Is that what Advanced Algebra is supposed to be?

Are the students supposed to be coming from Algebra 1? or Algebra 2?

This is much more confusing than I thought it would be.

3. Muttling

Muttling Devotee

May 28, 2010

The Core texts are contextual based and my favorites. They are full of word problems and emphasize real world applications.

I have no info on the other two so it's hard to comment. The Alg with Stats sounds interesting, but what does the "with stats" really mean?

What does you your state say the curriculum for this course should be?????

4. MathTeacher29

MathTeacher29 Rookie

May 28, 2010

In NC after Algebra 2 the students either go to Advanced Functions and Modeling or Precalcus. This is the book we use for Advanced Functions and Modeling: http://wps.prenhall.com/esm_blitzer_algtrig_2/
    You can click through and see the chapters. I think there may be a new edition out.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

May 29, 2010

6. Muttling