Pending license....no job offers. HELP

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MissM920, Jul 21, 2013.

1. MissM920

MissM920 Rookie

Jul 21, 2013

I have a unique situation. I graduated in May with my Master's degree and applied for my license as soon as I passed my last state exam. However, the state is backed up to NOVEMBER 2012 on processing licenses.....

I am job hunting and i'm afraid school districts and private sped schools are overlooking me due to not actually having a license yet, but I don't see it coming until about January. I put it in my cover letter, but they have to get to that part first...

Any suggestions?

3. Rhesus

Rhesus Comrade

Jul 21, 2013

Put (pending) after your license on your résumé.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 21, 2013

Your local schools know the deal. Put pending and date applied on your resume.

5. Mrs.Giggles

Mrs.Giggles Companion

Jul 21, 2013

Yes. Honestly, I would not worry about the pending license too much. In Missouri school districts can call DESE to expedite the process if they have a contracted teacher pending certification. I assume that is also a possibility in your state.

6. MissM920

MissM920 Rookie

Jul 21, 2013

It DOES say pending, but I've already had three schools (private SPED schools) call to get more info on it, and then say they can't hire anybody without the actual license.

If a school or district has two people with otherwise equal experience and credentials, but the actual license is missing, don't you think they'd just not go through the hassle of the one without it? I'm just afraid i'm getting looked over because of it.

7. AdamnJakesMommy

AdamnJakesMommy Habitué

Jul 21, 2013