Pencils

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by 773 Miles Away, Sep 14, 2008.

1. 773 Miles Away

773 Miles Away Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

Oh my god these pencils will be the death of me. If they weren't so expensive I would buy all my kids durable mechanical pencils so they would never have to sharpen them again... but that's out of my budget.

Anywho... how do you deal with the pencils and sharpening?? I just spent close to an hour sharpening enough pencils so they all have 4 fresh sharpened ones on their desk for tomorrow morning. But for day to day use... what do you do to minimize the distraction of sharpening pencils and not wasting time.

Any ideas would be appreciated!

3. NJArt

NJArt Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

I'm an art teacher who's students use pencils pretty much all day long. Regular pencils get dull fast. I buy Laddie pencils by Ticonderoga... because they are thicker and the lead is thicker, the point stays longer and breaks less. In the morning (or at the end of the day) I will sharpen about 30 pencils, and most of the time there is no further shapening needed until the next day. I also invested in a really good high quality pencil sharpener, so it only takes about a min or two to sharpen all the pencils.

4. teacherpippi

teacherpippi Habitué

Sep 14, 2008

My students are responsible for sharpening two pencils when they get in each morning. They place these on their desks. They can stay in at a recess to sharpen more or borrow one from a friend.

5. 773 Miles Away

773 Miles Away Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

I really like that idea (reminds me of the Tools for Teaching technique where you simply require two pencils ready at the beginning of the day)... however...

Doesn't that cause for a hectic start in the day? What is your morning routine like?