PDD Student in After School Program

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by teachdeaf15, Feb 10, 2011.

1. teachdeaf15

teachdeaf15 Rookie

Feb 10, 2011

Hi!

I am a Kindergarten teacher with a student who has been diagnosed with PDD. He is doing pretty well in the classroom, but is having a very difficult time in the After School Program. There are about 50 kids in the program ranging from K-6 grade. The first hour is a study hall/ homework and then the kids can play outside or in the gym. My student has been getting in to trouble in the After School Program. He is not displaying any of the same behaviors in class. I am trying to offer suggestions to the teachers in after school, so that the student can have a positive experience. The teachers in after school don't understand his special needs and have been unwilling to adapt for him.

Thank you for all of your help!!! :)

3. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Feb 10, 2011

Can you educate the After School staff? If you find one person that wants to help, she might be able to convert the others.

Maybe you can write something on his IEP so the afterschool staff has to accomodate him.

4. renmew

renmew Rookie

Feb 10, 2011

Your last sentence says it all. They are unwilling to adapt. What, do they think he can just up and decide to be normal after the school day ends. Tell them exactly how you handle him in school, and then get something worked into the IEP to make it legal. I've had similar problems with stupid people this week.

5. bros

bros Phenom

Feb 11, 2011

Call for an IEP meeting and invite the afterschool teachers

6. teachdeaf15

teachdeaf15 Rookie

Feb 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your suggestions!