Patterns with k-1

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Victoriateacher, Oct 20, 2007.

1. Victoriateacher

Victoriateacher Rookie

Oct 20, 2007

I am a student teacher and I'm just beginning a pattern unit with my k-1 class. The 1's are pretty strong in their patterning skills, whereas the k's haven't done anything. What sorts of pattern activities might you do with a combined class like this?

I am being observed Monday for this lesson. So far I was planning to give each table group a few Halloween pattern strips I've made up to choose from (ABAB patterns only) and have them reconstruct them the patterns onto their own strips. I would give them the option of copying a pattern already represented, or making their own pattern. I have simple Halloween pictures for them to cut out to make their patterns and glue them onto strips of construction paper. Is this too much work for beginning patterning?

Thanks for your help & advice!

3. maroki

maroki Comrade

Oct 20, 2007

Maybe for the 1s you could have them work on more difficult patterns: AAB, ABC, AABC, etc....and for the Ks they could stick with the ABAB patterns.

4. SueHue

SueHue Comrade

Oct 20, 2007

What you have is really great. Here's some extra ideas:

Ssk the 1's to make more than one pattern. Have them label their patterns below the clip art (or whatever you are using).

Give the 1's samples of patterns and tell them to find as many AB, ABB, ABC, etc patterns and sort them into piles. Throw in some that are not patterns. Ask them to find the ones that aren't patterns. They should be able to explain why something is or isn't a pattern - it doesn't repeat, I can make it a pattern if I change ____. Something like that.