Passing back papers routine

Discussion in 'General Education' started by LiteratureLover, Aug 11, 2012.

1. LiteratureLover

LiteratureLover Rookie

Aug 11, 2012

What is your routine for passing back papers? I found that last year as a first year teacher, I'd grade the papers immediately, but I'd sit them by the folders and didn't pass them back immediately. This is a huge problem on my part that I want to change this year. Do you have a filing system or a daily routine?

3. GoldenPoppy

GoldenPoppy Habitué

Aug 11, 2012

When I pass back papers I have my students take out the binder or folder where the paper will go. Papers are passed back on their desks face down. The paper goes immediately into the proper place. Math papers are graded and returned the same day. Writing assignments take a day or so.

4. applecore

applecore Devotee

Aug 11, 2012

My daughter's 7th grade math teacher had a file for each student in one of those magazine racks, sorted by period. She teaches 6 periods.

Either the teacher or the TA for the class would come in and distribute the papers to the folders throughout the week and then have the kids get their graded work throughout the week on their own, but it had to be emptied on Friday. This helped with the teacher sending notes home to the parents for some activity or event happening in math---I really liked this piece, but I teach 3rd grade, so any parent-teacher communication is great.

They also have a system that the teachers have to print the weekly grades in the classroom for the kids to see what assignments that were graded or missing----and had a "no name" box the kids were to self-check often.

5. HistTchr

HistTchr Habitué

Aug 11, 2012