Part time or full time?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Koriemo, Aug 9, 2015.

1. Koriemo

Koriemo Comrade

Aug 9, 2015

I have been teaching English at a private high school for two years. I love my school, students, and administration. Actually, it seems too easy sometimes. I have small classes, an easy schedule, and students who are motivated and well behaved. The school isn't very "progressive", has very little technology, and the curriculum sometimes feels outdated. The school is 45 minutes away from my house. My husband works 30 minutes in the opposite direction, so we aren't planning to move.

I have an opportunity to take a part time (.40) position teaching middle school social studies at a public school 5 minutes away from my house. Even though it's only part time, I would only be making $5000 less per year. While teaching English is my preference, my background in ELA was seen as a benefit in this position because of the school's emphasis on literacy across the curriculum. This is a desireable district in a growing area. It's the only district near my house, and I feel like I should jump on the opportunity, I may not get one in the future.

Part of the advantage of switching to a public school is that I think it might open up future opportunities. My current school doesn't pay very much and the salary doesn't increase as much with experience. While the decrease in salary now isn't great, it is manageable.

So, what would you do? Part time because it could open doors for future opportunities? Or full time?

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Aug 9, 2015

If you can swing the pay, I would 100% go for the new job. I quit a full-time job to take a long term subbing job and it is the only decision I've made in the last two that I haven't regretted.