Parents! Help!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by kkidsrock, Aug 9, 2011.

1. kkidsrock

kkidsrock Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

I am a veteran teacher, but am always open to suggestions and other points of view. That being said, how do you other K teachers deal with the parents of the student whose well-meaning parents believe that he/she should skip kindergarten and progress directly to first grade? I know that these parents mean well and only want the best for their child, but I feel like they are being a bit pushy with all of the suggestions about how we ought to teach and what we should do and all the questions about the curriculum...School hasn't even started yet!!!:dizzy:

3. Avery

Avery Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

I wish I had some advice. I swear, parents are the hardest part of my job by far!

4. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Aug 9, 2011

I think perhaps reminding these parents that while academics are important in Kinder, but social skills learned in Kinder are just as important. IMO, Kinder sets the path as to what school is, how to get along with others, learning the classroom processes, and many other valuable skills neccessary and crucial for academic success.

And if all else fails, maybe mention that in high school, the age difference will really start to show ~ she won't get to drive when her peers do, the boys will ALWAYS be older even in her own grade . . . . :)

5. kkidsrock

kkidsrock Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

Thanks a bunch for giving me your take!

I had already played the social skills card. That is when I was told that the child already relates well to older children. I wanted to continue by suggesting that while I feel like that is great, it is also important, as you mentioned, that he is able to relate to his OWN peer group, as well. I don't think she would have heard a word that I said.