parent/ teacher relationship

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by hometeacher, Aug 6, 2005.

1. hometeacher

hometeacher Companion

Aug 6, 2005

HI everyone first year at new school and worried about making a good first impression on parents. i will be the only new teacher and i want to have a open relationship will parents. How do i deal with the parents and my students when the parent must leave in the morning.

3. jkkroll

jkkroll Rookie

Aug 6, 2005

Be firm and kind and confident (even if secretly you are shaking in your boots). If it looks like you've got it together parents will be more comfortable. Is it your first year teaching or just your first year at the school? I always try to let parents know that I have plenty of experience handling the first day jitters.

I also put together a little packet for the parents to take home that has a cotton ball, a tissue, and a tea bag. The cotton is to help them remember the gentle spirit of their child, the tissue is for wiping tears, and the teabag is to remind them to take some time and relax.

4. hometeacher

hometeacher Companion

Aug 6, 2005

that is so beautiful.
    i quess im just thinking about what might happen.
    from the point the parents drop the children off and i need to gather them together. I know that parents will stay for even longer after the drop off time.
    My style of teaching is quiet and not as silly and loud as maybe some teachers approach to the children.
    So i hope that i dont come across shy or rude.

5. jkkroll

jkkroll Rookie

Aug 6, 2005