Parent/Teacher conferences

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by tgtbtj, Oct 8, 2010.

1. tgtbtj

tgtbtj Companion

Oct 8, 2010

Hi all I haven't been on this forum for awhile! I never realized how busy I would be as a teacher, I hardly have any time to be on the computer except to check my email and take attendance. So this is my first year teaching and I need advice from the rest of you master teachers. We have parent/teacher conferences in about 2 weeks and I was just wondering what would you recommend I have ready to discuss with the parents of my students. We will have progress reports but is as far as student work is concerned, what should I show them? Thanks for all the help!

3. Momma C

Momma C Comrade

Oct 8, 2010

Always start out by saying something positive about the student. Parents love to hear their kid praised - I know I do, and mine are grown. Be honest with parents, but in a tactful way. You want the parent on your side. Be able to show them some of their child's finished work - both good and bad. Let them know that Little Johnny can do it -- he just needs to try a little harder at paying attention, getting his homework done, etc. Let them know to feel free to set up a day with you to shadow their child. If possible, give parents a listing of what you will be covering over the next few weeks. Maybe provide some websites than can assist them in helping their child with homework, projects, etc. VERY IMPORTANT - Let them know you care about their child and end the meeting with a positive comment about their child.

4. EDUK8_ME

EDUK8_ME Cohort

Oct 8, 2010

In addition to the progress reports you could show samples of name writing, a self portrait/other drawings, scissor skills sample (draw lines straight, curve and zig-zag have students cut on the lines as best as they can).

5. SoReady2Teach

SoReady2Teach Comrade

Oct 8, 2010