Parent Request

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Miss W, May 3, 2005.

1. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

May 3, 2005

Hey guys,
    I was wondering if this was a problem anywhere else. We sent a letter home yesterday, district wide, that told parents that they could request teachers for next year in a written letter to the pricipal. They had to have at least 3 teachers on this letter, and the letter would be considered during placement. This morning, the hallways were full of parents who were requesting teachers for next year. I can see where this might be appropriate to request not to have certain teachers (you know, when certain teachers are family, or have had a bad experience with the child, or know the teacher too well), but it has just gotten out of hand. I'm a first year teacher, outside in a modular. This is already 2 strikes against me. We try to place ability, behavior, and special needs evenly across the board. Then these requests come in. What's the point of us even trying to place the students were they need to be? There will be 8 spots in each classroom reserved for these requests. Does anyone have these problems, or had this in the past? What do you do to solve it?

3. AMK

AMK Aficionado

May 3, 2005

My school always allowed teacher requests but last year it got out of control. This year they are not allowing requests for next year. We teachers do the placement and like you we try to place them by ability, behavior and so on. Some parents are not happy that they can not request but oh well! One incoming kinder parent said she wanted to request a teacher (not me) and they said she couldn't and she said well we'll see about that, she doesnt realize they aren't taking anyone's requests!

4. ellen_a

ellen_a Groupie

May 3, 2005