Parent Problems!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Iris228, Nov 18, 2006.

1. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Nov 18, 2006

I am a young new teacher and having problems with a difficult parent. How much HW is appropriate in Kindergarten and should the child be responsible for putting it in his/her take home folder?

I am giving HW 3 times a week, not on Fridays and have the kids put it in their folder. One parent is complaining that there wasn't HW at all this week, but there was on Mon/Tue/Thurs.

I found out that her child did not remember to put their HW in their folder on Thurs., it was in their bin outside of the folder and never made it home. As for Mon/Tues I know I got HW turned in from this child. I told her this and also promised to look into where his HW assignment was from Thurs. (thats when I discovered it never mad it home). She then turned away from me shook her head and sighed as she walked away. I felt embarassed and amazed at how rude she was to me. She then complained about this to my superior, who asked me to explain the situation and then told me she is notorioius for being difficult and rude and to not let her push me around.

Suggestions?? Is there something I should change about what I am doing? How much HW do you give? Do you have your students record it somwhere? Am I wrong to trust kindergarteners to put it in their folders themselves?

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Nov 18, 2006

Don't worry. You are a new teacher doing your best. No matter how long you've been teaching you will ALWAYS encounter a parent who complains about something.