Parent Involvement

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Alexis, Dec 30, 2002.

1. Alexis

Alexis Rookie

Dec 30, 2002

I am a college student majoring in Elementary and Special Education. I am currently working on my Senior Honors Project, researching parent involvement. I would like to get the first-hand opinions of various teachers on the following questions:

1. Do you feel that your students' parents are as involved as they should be?

2. What do you, as a teacher do in your classroom to involve parents?

3. Does your school district try to involve parents? In what ways?

4. How would you describe an involved parent? An uninvolved parent?

5. How often do you communicate with parents, and in what context? (Positive, Negative, Informative, etc.)

Additional comments are welcome, and will be appreciated. I am looking forward to your replies. Thank you in advance.

***Information provided to me will be kept confidential.

3. Guest

Guest Guest

Dec 31, 2002

I teach First Grade
    . Do you feel that your students' parents are as involved as they should be?

For the most part. I have parents that I see and talk to daily, becaus they pick up their children, and some that I see only druing conference time. But all are great about responding to letters and contatcing me when they have concerns.
    Our school does a lot to involve parents. I am in a Catholic school, and money/resources are limited. So we have parents who run our library program and also parents who come in for playground duty. Parents also run and head assembly programs, school wide events./ This year paretns volunteered to cook thanksgiving dinner for the whole school, and the kids did skits for entertainment. The doors to our school are always open!