Parent Conference

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by NewTeacher05, Nov 11, 2014.

1. NewTeacher05

NewTeacher05 Rookie

Nov 11, 2014

Hello!
    I'm a Kindergarten Teacher. One of my parents wants to meet with me in regard to her son being constantly teased in class due to his height (he's just a tad short for a K student, nothing unusual). Anyways, she says he goes home and says all day long he is teased (he also goes to before school/after school programs at school and it happens there too) and its getting so bad he wants to go back to his old PreK.

I'm looking on advice on what to say to her, because honestly I don't see it. Her son is very, very social (as in gets in trouble all the time for talking and playing) and has many friends in the class and has never come to me in regards of someone saying something to him he did not like. I also have never heard the other students make references to his height.

I plan on telling her that I do correct student behavior as soon as it happens, and if students are not using nice words, they are asked to correct their words and apologize. Also since K students are ego centric, they don't realize words they say hurt others, so I also teach my students if someone says something to them that hurts their feelings to tell them that.

I'm not sure what else to say? Again as I mentioned I have not observed anyone make references to his height and he plays and talks with everyone. She is pretty upset over this and also has emailed our P wanting to meet with him over this. So I feel like if I say I don't see anything, she will think I am just brushing it off and ignoring the problem?

Thanks for the help!

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Nov 11, 2014

Some parents look for problems.

Some kids will make up stories about being mistreated, especially if they are in trouble at school and looking for an "out."

Good luck!

4. AdamnJakesMommy

AdamnJakesMommy Habitué

Nov 11, 2014

Handle it diplomatically.