Parent Complainer

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ginasparkles, Aug 26, 2008.

1. ginasparkles

ginasparkles Rookie

Aug 26, 2008

Hello Teachers! I am a new teacher and there is one parent that complains about every single thing! There is no pleasing her. I was wondering if any other teachers have had this same experience and how they handled it? Thanks.

3. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Aug 26, 2008

Tell her tough noogies, get used to it. No, I'm only half kidding. If she has legitimate complaints, then I might entertain her and listen for a while, but if I have to hear about how the color on the walls isn't right, I'd send her right to the principal. I have bigger fish to fry.

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Aug 26, 2008

What kinds of things is she complaining about? Your response to the complains would be different depending on the issue. If she's complaining that she doesn't like the reading program you're using, well, then too bad. That's not a choice either of you get to make. Too much homework? Listen and see if she's got a valid point. Little Johnny is upset because he didn't get to be the line leader or had to do something he considered unpleasant...well that's just too darn bad. Your classroom doesn't revolve around little johnny (though in more diplomatic terms).

5. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Aug 27, 2008

I use to worry about upsetting parents. Now I just try to be as honest as possible and state the facts. I discovered that most responds positively to that approach. They want you to just listen. Also I found the best way to get a complainer on my side was to give them a job to do for me.

6. Maestra Ita

Maestra Ita Rookie

Aug 27, 2008