Parent Communication

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Rachel0624, Aug 12, 2008.

1. Rachel0624

Rachel0624 Rookie

Aug 12, 2008

This is my first year teaching Kindergarten. The last few years I taught First Grade. My principal told me that she would like to see more communication with parents (although I had a website, sent newsletters, and emailed them constantly) :mad: So This year I was trying to think of some sort of form that I could send home daily/weekly for each student. I was thinking that I could stamp a smiley for behavior and then have a space for comments. Does anyone use anything like this? What do you use for parent communcation? :help:

Thank You

3. AFWifeNGermany

AFWifeNGermany Rookie

Aug 12, 2008

I have a daily binder that goes home. There is a front pocket for parents to put things for me, a pencil pouch for money, a communication log, a behavior calendar, a calendar, and a folder with 2 sides- one for keeping at home, 1 for things to return.

The communication log allows for note writing back and forth. It is quick and easy. I doubled sided it in order to give more room. It's a great record of your attempts at communication.

The behavior calendar is marked each day with the tickets they pulled (My rules correspond to a color, when the rule is broken, they pull a ticket of the corresponding color. You could also color the day with the color they ended on if you use that system.) If the day was good, they have a stamp or sticker.

The calendar lists important dates, library days, and the specials rotation.

I also send out a weekly newsletter.

It sounds to me like you are doing a lot, but that's what I do in case you need a new idea!

4. Lilly4

Lilly4 Rookie

Aug 12, 2008