Panic about first week of school...

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by snickydog, Aug 21, 2007.

1. snickydog

snickydog Groupie

Aug 21, 2007

I am sort of panicing about the first week of school. It'll be a four day week (we start right after Labor Day). It's my first year in elementary (I taught middle school last year), although I student taught 1st grade a year and a half ago during the winter.

What does your first week schedule typically look like? I have a feel for what my first day will look like (come in, work on coloring pages while I get kids settled; come together and introduce each other at morning meeting; start calendar math; read aloud; practice coming into room and putting things away; take supplies; bathroom breaks as needed; short writing and drawing activity; read alouds/singing; color Play-Doh activity at end of day).

What about those subsequent days as you need to continue introducing procedures? I don't want to bore the kids to death. :)

3. autumnpumpkin

autumnpumpkin Rookie

Aug 21, 2007

They won't get bored, they'll actually get excited. They become little show-offs lol. They get a huge sense of pride in showing the teacher and their friends how good they are at following the rules.

After the first day, I spend the rest of the week doing Language Arts and Math in the morning but keeping the afternoon for back to school fun, such as lessons from the book "The Kissing Hands". If you search on the web there are tons of ideas to use for that book.
    You can also start introducing your first social studies unit in that first week (mine is 'All About Me'). I really hope this helps you :).

4. brewergirl

brewergirl New Member

Aug 21, 2007

I am so glas someone else feels this way! It is also my first year in 1st grade- and teaching- and I am absolutely terrified! Any ideas ANYBODY has would be much appreciated :)

5. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Aug 21, 2007

what grade are you going to be teaching this year?

6. traveler