Pandora in the classroom

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Pisces_Fish, Jan 14, 2011.

1. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Jan 14, 2011

What stations do you like? I usually play Zoe Keating, Mozart or Vivaldi. I especially love Pandora now because I received a 'premium' subscription for Christmas (my favorite gift!!) and so now I can skip songs until my heart's content and NO ADS!! :)

Share your favorite stations for writing time, quiet time, morning work, whatever....

3. Cerek

Cerek Aficionado

Jan 14, 2011

I just learned about Pandora before Christmas Break from my former CT. She had discovered it was no longer "blocked content" on the school system, so she plans to use that for kids to listen to in the room while working. I have a free subscription but haven't tried it in the room yet.

4. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Jan 14, 2011

Unfortunatly it is still blocked at school. :( I can, however, play it from the iPad.

5. shouldbeasleep

shouldbeasleep Enthusiast

Jan 14, 2011

Jackson Browne is currently my favorite.

6. midwestteacher

midwestteacher Cohort

Jan 14, 2011

We aren't supposed to stream music at school. It uses our bandwidth and slows down internet for everyone.

7. bros

bros Phenom

Jan 14, 2011

I severely doubt that a school, on a business connection, would have a bandwidth limitation of any kind (Or if it did, it would not be even dented by the streaming of music)

The slowing down of internet is somewhat understandable, but only if everyone in the school were streaming at once, straining the incredibly old cables

8. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jan 14, 2011

In a brand new school (so new cables), the computer tech came into a teacher's room and insisted she stop streaming music. She was the only one in the district doing so, and the computer dude said she was causing problems district wide.

9. bros

bros Phenom

Jan 15, 2011