Overwhelmed...

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by RedFox, May 21, 2008.

1. RedFox

RedFox Rookie

May 21, 2008

I just found out that my cozy little class of 13 will become a group of 18 in about a month, for a variety of reasons. I should explain that we are open year-round, so I will have these 18 until the end of August.

This is my first year teaching - and it's been a great one. We started off with some behavior issues, but I'm really happy with where we're ending up! I feel comfortable management-wise...but that's with 13 kids!

Logically, I know I can do this...but I am feeling a little overwhelmed. Does anyone have any management tips for 18 four and five year olds? Some of my concerns are:
    - Swimming several times a week (bus ride there & back)
    - Nap time (Of course many 4/5's do not nap - quiet ideas for non-nappers?)
    - Snack, Lunch, etc.

I think I'm just having trouble imagining where I'm going to put five more kids.

Again, I can do this...just hearing some management tips might help me feel less overwhelmed...

Thanks in advance!

3. ksmomy

ksmomy Companion

May 22, 2008

I would love to have just 18 4 and 5 year olds. I have 24. I think the most important thing is to know what your expectations are and communicate them clearly and frequently to the children. Make sure your expectations are age and developmentally appropriate. Don't expect too much or too little. Always be consistent so they know what to expect from you. If you follow a routine and talk with them a lot things usually go pretty smoothly.

4. RedFox

RedFox Rookie

May 22, 2008

Thank you, ksmomy...I will keep that advice in mind.

5. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

May 27, 2008

Plan, plan and plan some more.