Overwhelmed!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by Jen, Aug 12, 2006.

1. Jen

Jen Rookie

Aug 12, 2006

I have just been thru 4 days of New Teacher orientation, and I am starting to freak out a little. I have never gotten so much info in such a short amount of time in my life:eek: . Is this normal, is anyone else feeling like this, and how do I cope? Between all the paperwork for my district and my Alt. Cert. program, I wonder if I will even get to see my students, much less teach them. I do have a great mentor program in my dist., in fact I have 4. If there are any 1st year survivors out there, I would love to hear from you. I need COURAGE!!!:(

:love: Jen

3. EnglishMiss

EnglishMiss Rookie

Aug 12, 2006

Hi Jen,
    I'm in your same situation and I just wanted to say I sympathize! I'm also a brand-new teacher, just went through 4 days of orientation and 1 work day last week, and I agree it is information overload! I just have been telling myself, I won't need all this information immediately; in fact, it might be a long time before I need it someday, so I'm not going to stress about it now. When I do need something that I don't remember how to do, that's what mentors are there for. :) And I know my mentor is going to be awesome with all the odd questions I'll have this year. Have you gotten to know your mentors? I think they will be a lifesaver for both of us.
    So, I can't tell you any survivor stories, just wanted to say you're not alone! Take care.

4. cubanteacher

cubanteacher New Member

Aug 12, 2006

PDP

:confused: I am overwhelmed too.....can sombody help me with the Profesional Development Plan(PDP)?I have no idea how to do it....

5. dehabel

dehabel Rookie

Aug 12, 2006