Overwhelmed with Modifications!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by RMM, Mar 1, 2008.

1. RMM

RMM Rookie

Mar 1, 2008

This is my first year teaching in public school and my first year to teach first grade and I have to say I'm a bit overwhelmed! I have a group of 21 very interesting students, five of which I am now required to make very different individual modifications for and I'm not sure how to do it without losing control of the other 16.

For example, one child with severe behavior problems is supposed to be given a reward of 10 minutes free time for every hour she meets a certain goal. This sounds easy enough, but I know my other students are going to ask for a reward as well and with this child's personality, she won't be subtle with her free time.

Most will understand the explanation that we're trying to help our friend learn how to behave in a classroom, but I have some that question EVERYTHING and will most likely make a fuss about things not being fair.

I'm just not sure how I can structure the day and ensure everyone's needs are met. Any suggestions are appreciated!

- RMM

3. Miss Kirby

Miss Kirby Fanatic

Mar 1, 2008

I just tell the kids if they say anything about invidual behavior plans, that it is going to help that student learn.

4. TulipsGirl

TulipsGirl Cohort

Mar 1, 2008

Since you have quite a few who are getting modifications, you might as well have a discussion about what constitutes as "fair" in a classroom. (Since it is a sensitive topic, you might want to think the "script" through very carefully before you discuss this with children ) You tell the students that you love them all very much and you are there to help them all learn. And that since children are all very different, sometimes they need different things to help them learn. When a classroom is fair it does not mean that everyone gets exactly the same. Since you are the teacher, you would know what will help each child learn at their best.