Overwhelmed new teacher...help!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by katanakira, Jul 30, 2015.

1. katanakira

katanakira New Member

Jul 30, 2015

I'm a new teacher and I am freaking out. It didn't happen until I went to my room today. I guess it hit me then, not sure. I am going to be teaching middle school social studies for grades 5-8. I will be the only social studies teacher for those grades, but the teachers who taught the subject last year will still be there. One thing that is really bothering me is my lack of "teacher handwriting." I mean I knew I didn't have it, but I am just worrying about how students and parents will feel about it. I plan on typing as much as possible, but some parents might want "written proof" of something. My handwriting will look like a student forged the note, it's that bad. I spent the past three years as a paraprofessional in a high school so on top of learning how to teach in my own classroom, I have to reprogram myself from interacting with 15-19 year olds to now interacting with 10-14 year olds. Classroom expectations/rules are another thing I am struggling with for this age range.

If anyone has any advice for me, that would be great!

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 30, 2015

Don't worry about your handwriting even one more minute. It is most definitely NOT the thing that will make or break you as a teacher. "Teacher handwriting" is so over-rated, and many do not have it. There are so many other things to focus on; don't let that be one of them.

4. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Jul 30, 2015