Overwhelmed in a Sp Ed preschool

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by crosscountryski, Sep 23, 2011.

1. crosscountryski

crosscountryski Companion

Sep 23, 2011

Hi

I am a teacher in a special education preschool in a public school. My undergrad was in Early Childhood and Master's was in Early Intervention/Special Education. I did student teaching in special education preschool, but this is the first time that I am on my own.

I am overwhelmed. I have a couple of paras but they are assigned to 1:1 students. I do not have a para to help me with the rest of the students. I have between 15 and 18 on any given day. Majority are on IEPs and have significant needs. Trying to get an extra set of hands is a miracle at this point. I have been asking. Today, I just got told to get more involved. I can't be in two places at the same time.

Every day that I come into preschool, I feel anxious and stressed before the kids come in. Some days are worse than others. I just broke down and cried today in front of my director today, which is not the first time.

I love the kids, but since I am always picking up pieces it makes it difficult to sit down and play or work with the students. To top it off, if any of my parents have a concern, they are quick to run to the director or principal instead of me. There are times that I feel like I am being run out of the town.

How do I survive and do what I love to do. I seriously want to be here next year as I love the town. I just feel so lost and unable to do my job because I am stretched too thin.

Any help would be great.
    Thanks

3. Pre-K Teacher 1

Pre-K Teacher 1 Comrade

Sep 24, 2011