Overwhelmed and confused where to start...1st year

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by TeacherJ4life, Jul 24, 2008.

1. TeacherJ4life

TeacherJ4life Companion

Jul 24, 2008

I've taught preschool for a few years but it was in a private school. Now, I've graduated with my masters and will be teaching 1st grade in a public school. Literally, it's so different and I feel like this is my first year. I need help... what should I do first? What needs to be done before the kids get there? Also, I need a creative way to manage my children's behavior (both positive/negative behavior). I was thinking of something like Stay on the Green since I am doing a frog theme. Any help or pictures of classroom management ideas would be SO APPRECIATED!
    THANKS!!

PS Is it normal to be so SCARED and afraid that you will fail as a teacher?

3. JBteach

JBteach Companion

Jul 24, 2008

Well first you will want to try to figure out what is in your new classroom. So maybe a visit to your classroom if it is ready. This way you can get a vision of what you will be working with. Maybe you can also touch base with the teachers you will be working with. They can fill you in on maybe what you may already have and what you will need.

4. JBteach

JBteach Companion

Jul 24, 2008

Afterwards you can start writing a checklist for yourself. I always do this in the beginning of the year because with all you need to do this is the only way to help you to remember everything that needs to get done.

5. TeacherJ4life

TeacherJ4life Companion

Jul 24, 2008

Yeah, I've tried that but it seems like I have so much to do and such little time- LOL:D!

6. JBteach

JBteach Companion

Jul 24, 2008

Just remember everything always seems to get done. Just take it in strides.

7. JBteach

JBteach Companion

Jul 24, 2008

As far as behavior you could use the traffic light colors red, yellow and green and have each student have their clothespin starting off on green.

Green-great day
    Yellow-warning