Overhead transparency solutions?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by astewart, Nov 7, 2006.

1. astewart

astewart Rookie

Nov 7, 2006

I'm an eighth grade science teacher and use the overhead projector in all my classes, since we don't have our own rooms. I'm sick of using overheads that don't come all the way clean (the Vis-A-Vis markers leave shadows), and I'm looking for an alternative to transparencies. Sometimes we use it for just taking notes, and sometimes we're filling out a worksheet on the overhead.

Do you have any suggestions on something (cheap and reusable) to use other than transparencies, and what kind of markers (Vis-A-Vis or Expo) do you use on them? I've heard about clear dry erase boards, but haven't been able to find those.

Help is appreciated! :)

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Nov 7, 2006

Buy a box of write-on transparencies that do not go in the copy machine and use those over your printed transparencies. The write-on transparencies do come clean, and you won't have to clean your lesson transparencies between classes.

4. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Nov 7, 2006

I have a thin sheet of acrylic that I put over my transparencies. I like it because it is hard and doesn't slide around. I also use them for group work, and then it can be displayed on the overhead. I think they are from a company called Magic Slate.

5. daisyduck123

daisyduck123 Companion

Nov 7, 2006

This is exactly what I do. Works great!!

6. vsimpkins

vsimpkins Comrade

Nov 8, 2006

I have used page protectors. Just slide in the transpariencies and write on the page protector, then you can just wipe off and the transpariencies are clean to keep.

7. srh

srh Devotee

Nov 8, 2006