Overbearing Parent Volunteers

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacherrunner, May 11, 2015.

1. teacherrunner

teacherrunner Rookie

May 11, 2015

I'm long term subbing at a school in my district that is located in a very wealthy area. Most of the homes are at a minimum $800,000 and some are even closer to $1.2 million. This is the first time I have taught in a school that is wealthy and I'm pretty surprised at what I've seen.

I am a brand new teacher who has been finished with my program for about six months. I subbed in various classrooms in the school I'm currently in before landing a long term sub job. The parents are very demanding bothering me with issues such as why a math problem was written a certain way or why I enforced a consequence for their child who was disrupting my class. Today however, they really crossed the line. A few children in my class were arguing when they were moving desks and one child was very upset and crying therefore I asked all three kids to come and meet me in the hallway to talk. The kids were yelling at each other so I told them to take turns explaining what had happened. A few parents were in the hall at the time and one of the parents accused me of "losing it" and yelling at my class which is completely false. She then went to my boss and told her what had happened. Then I was pulled in and talked to by my boss who isn't angry and who believed me but she could see that I was obviously upset that someone would say something horrible and asked if I wanted to take a half day so I took it.

Now, I don't even know what to do. I guess this "volunteer" knows people who are up in the district and now I'm terrified that she is going to derail my opportunities to get permanent jobs regardless of doing nothing wrong.