Out of state jobs=any success?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by TeachMathNJ, Oct 12, 2013.

1. TeachMathNJ

TeachMathNJ Companion

Oct 12, 2013

Was wondering if anyone has had any experience getting hired out of state. I'm in NJ and looking at FL primarily (possibly AZ as well) to find a teaching job. Problem is I graduated 5 years ago and have never had a FT teaching position (subbing and tutoring). I currently work FT doing accounting. Do you think I will even get any call backs? Looking to move to FL primarily due to in-laws...looking to start next school

Thanks to all for your time and replies :)

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 12, 2013

When I graduated from New York, I got a job in Maryland. After that disaster of a year, I got a job in Virginia.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 12, 2013

I know that Osceola and Orange counties in Florida hire out of state teachers. Both counties have lots of job postings right now.

Edit: Orange County has 190 postings and Osceola County has 66 openings right now.

5. TeachMathNJ

TeachMathNJ Companion

Oct 12, 2013

Swansong1,

Thanks, I did see Orange County had plenty of postings, I wasn't sure how willing they were to hire out of state. Thanks for letting me know, I'll keep both on my radar.

6. TeachMathNJ

TeachMathNJ Companion

Oct 12, 2013

Thanks gr3teacher!

7. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Oct 12, 2013

I've done it twice. I moved from MI to NC, and then back to MI.

8. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Oct 12, 2013

I moved from the Midwest to the Southwest for a teaching job. If you can do it, it's smart to go where the jobs are. I strongly recommend having the state license in hand while applying. It makes the whole process much easier.

9. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 12, 2013