Out of country teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by wldywall, Aug 8, 2011.

1. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2011

I have a friend that I graduated with in 2006, and she has yet to find a teaching job. To make things worse she has lost all THREE of her jobs two months ago.

So she asked me about overseas teaching jobs, and I cannot remember some of the places people have talked about in the past....

so do any of you work overseas with a company? Could you send me the names of good ones so I can send them on to her?

Thanks

3. Emily Bronte

Emily Bronte Groupie

Aug 9, 2011

I have not taught over seas, but I used to work with someone who did. She worked in Japan for a program called JET. You could try googling and see what happens. Has your friend thought of adding an extra license to her teaching area to improve marketability. This is what I had to do to get a job.

4. gamerTeacher

gamerTeacher Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

JET is a good program, but it is typically for assistant teachers with little or no teaching experience. Your friend should try looking at Dave's esl cafe (they have job listings), or jobs.goabroad.com. What country does she want to work in? Since she is licensed in the US, she should be able to teach at international schools as well.

There are a lot of scammers out there so tell her to be really careful. If they give an unreasonable deadline, ask for money upfront, or seem fishy at all she shouldn't take the job.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 9, 2011

wldy~good to see you on the boards again!!

I have a friend that taught in S. Korea a few years ago. I'll ask her which company she used. I also know that another poster on these boards was looking at teaching in England..MissKirby.

6. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 9, 2011