Our rights as teachers

Discussion in 'General Education' started by LynnB, May 27, 2009.

1. LynnB

LynnB Rookie

May 27, 2009

Does anyone feel powerless in their choices as a teacher? I have been teaching for several years now and have been overlooked and ignored when I asked to teach other courses that came available. I feel like when I sign my contract it should have a big "SUCKER" stamped on it somewhere.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 27, 2009

Have you approached your P or dept head about why you haven't been given different courses?

4. LynnB

LynnB Rookie

May 28, 2009

Yes. I have spoken to the principal, board members, superintendent . . . to no avail. I'm not a member of a teacher organization. I also spoke to a lawyer/friend yesterday and she is getting back with me, but honestly, I don't want to get a lawyer involved. It all has to do with family connections and politics. I am a good teacher with educated students to prove it. What would you do?

5. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

May 28, 2009

Join a teacher organization and see how they can shed the light on what you should do.
    Good luck,
    Rebel1

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 28, 2009

What are the reasons they gave you? I do agree with Rebel about joining a teacher org and then seeing what they have to say. It could be because you've been successful in the classes you've taught that admin want to keep you there.

7. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

May 28, 2009

I might be confused here, but are you consulting a lawyer because you want to teach a particular course? Don't you think that might be a little extreme?

Your admin is allowed to place you wherever your license permits. If you don't want to teach the courses you currently have, you'll need to remove those subjects/grades. Otherwise, you're sort of stuck.

I guess I don't understand why this is a "rights" issue or an issue that requires the involvement of a lawyer.

8. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom