Other People's Responses

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by jen12, Oct 3, 2009.

1. jen12

jen12 Devotee

Oct 3, 2009

Do you ever find that sometimes being a teacher means more to the other people in your life than it does to you yourself?

For example: I have a friend, who, whenever we're someplace together and someone asks what I do for a living, he jumps in with "she's a teacher" before I can take a breath to answer on my own. On one hand, yes, there's a pride in the profession, but since I only recently received my credential after a career change and since I'm subbing, I don't always feel like "a teacher." Often I feel like a babysitter, or still a teacher-in-training putting in my dues. When you tell someone you're a teacher, it opens up the next question of, "what grade do you teach." As a sub, I have to explain that I'm subbing, that teaching jobs are scarce here, blah blah blah.

Even when I finally finished my courses, I found that family and friends were more excited about the whole thing than I was at that point. I was simply exhausted.

Then, there's the "summers off" and "only work until 3" myth...anyway, do you ever find yourself up against others' romanticized ideas of the profession?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 3, 2009

We get paid more than we're worth...

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 3, 2009

I call myself a 'professional educator'. Kind of leaves 'em thinking...

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 3, 2009

I don't care much what others think.

Everyone, for better or worse, has an opinion of teaching. And nothing I can say in a quick conversation is going to convince them that they're wrong.

Teaching is part of who I am. If it's not something you can respect, then either we won't be spending much time together or we'll have to limit our conversation to other topics.

6. Go 4th

Go 4th Habitué

Oct 3, 2009