Other jobs for teachers?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by shoreline02, May 7, 2010.

1. shoreline02

shoreline02 Cohort

May 7, 2010

What other jobs are there for teachers? Besides substituting, I have heard of teaching GED classes, Sylvan Learning Centers, and Kids Peace. What other career options are there?

3. myloveasdeep

myloveasdeep Rookie

May 8, 2010

Since I graduated with my undergrad in teaching English, I have worked in a summer camp for at-risk kids taking college credit classes, a gas station, an independent bookstore as a bookseller and later floor manager (not as fun as I expected), a kindergarten/school age teacher in a corporate daycare, and a para/tutor in my present workplace, where I was just promoted to full-time English teacher for next year.
    Get in however you can and make yourself indispensable!

I always thought working for a publishing company would be fun, too.

4. bizess

bizess Rookie

Aug 1, 2010

I've been working at Sylvan for about a year and a half now because I'm having trouble getting something full-time. Keep in mind, Sylvan's part-time and doesn't pay all that great. But it'll keep your teaching muscles strong, that's for sure.

5. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Aug 1, 2010

I have worked as a nanny, in a daycare, and as a waitress. Why waitressing was amazing because I mad elots of money, I hated waiting on people and having to deal with them all the time. I worked at that job until I got my present teaching job and had to move away. I would stay working in a school because thats how lots of people make connections and get jobs. If your strapped for cash then you could pick something else up like waitressing or working at a store part time to make some extra cash.

6. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Aug 2, 2010