Organizing question

Discussion in 'General Education' started by shoebottom, Jan 3, 2016.

1. shoebottom

shoebottom Companion

Jan 3, 2016

I am looking for a better way to organize my material.. do you keep your stuff in files in a filing cabinet or do you collect electronically and file them that way? I like the idea of keeping it all digit because I am wanting to cut down on big furniture in my room next year. Also, has anyone taken the plunge and got rid of their teacher desk? I am a sped teacher and use it often because of all the paperwork I have to complete, but I have been thinking about using my small group table as my work space. I am not at my desk when the kids are in the room anyway.

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Jan 3, 2016

I like having a desk. Won't convince me to get rid of it.

I do everything possible electronically. I scan student projects needed for keeping.

Caesar753 likes this.
  4. sweetlatina23

sweetlatina23 Cohort

Jan 3, 2016

I haven't been able to find something that works for me just yet. I am still filling everything and I have started to keep everything digitally. It is easier for me to scan everything and save it on my desktop or school files. However, I feel the need to keep a hard-copy on some items, especially if they have signatures. I tend to find things a lot faster on my computer, than through my files.

One of our teachers did get rid of her desk. At first I thought it was a great idea, maybe it would keep her away from the desk. However, when I go into her classroom for walkthroughs, she tends to take up student work space. I think it is a great idea, but you would still need to have a work space to avoid having your items around the classroom.

5. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jan 3, 2016