Organizing my classroom library

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mrsammieb, Jul 9, 2015.

1. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jul 9, 2015

What a daunting job! At first I was writing the level of each book, then decided not to level them but just put them in categories. There are so many ways you could categorize books! Ugh! Huge job.

Since I am moving down, I am going to have one of my 5th graders from last year come and scan all the books into my Book Retriever app, but first I have to group them!

Does anyone else find this job difficult? Do you have a simple answer for me to make it easier? Would you level them? The app actually does that, but it won't be written in the book.

3. Stlteach89

Stlteach89 Rookie

Jul 9, 2015

I'm interested in seeing these answer. It's my first year in my own classroom. I have a ton of book already that I need to sort through so I can have the ones suitable for 2nd grade. I know my cooperating teacher had her library separated by genre.

4. Banana0

Banana0 Rookie

Jul 9, 2015

I'm also starting my first year with a good number of books and I'm interested to hear what people say. I was thinking of probably using Scholastic Book Wizard.

5. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Jul 9, 2015

Yes! Every year I try to do something about my sad classroom library but it never sticks. Next year I will do this with my students in the beginning of the year as we learn routines and how to work in a small group.

6. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Jul 9, 2015

In my (little experience) opinion, make your first choice for grouping of the books on what your kids will be thinking first. For me, that was genre. Then decide how you want to sort from there (alphabetical by title/author, by specific level, by a range of levels, by more specific categories, etc...)
    Since you are 1st grade, I'd say keep it simple for the kids - by category, for example (animals, geography, etc...)

7. Stlteach89

Stlteach89 Rookie

Jul 9, 2015