Organization Tips

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by nasimi77, Aug 13, 2006.

1. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

Aug 13, 2006

I thought I'd start a thread on this, because I would love to hear how all of you keep your stuff organized. I am a new teacher and I will be teaching 4th grade, as well as beginning visual arts 3 days a week after school on Tues, Wed & Thurs. I THINK I will have a separate room to teach art, but I sure as heck don't want to make that assumption. I am just figuring I'll have to teach 4th grade and also be a visual arts teacher for those 3 days of the week. I'm excited but also very overwhelmed right now.:rolleyes:

I have come a long way in terms of organization, but I'll admit I have a long way to go. I'm what you'd call the "organized chaos queen". (my apartment is a perfect example):eek: I just want to have a neat and orderly looking room, and I also realize a lot of that has to do with how I plan things. I am not a slob by any means, and I am a clean person, I don't want to give the wrong impression. I have just heard many teachers say they want to be more organized. It does seem to be a tough thing. So, for those of you who have organization down to an art form, please help me and others who are still a work in progress. :D (well, I guess we all are in a way)

Thank you!:)

3. Ann2006

Ann2006 Cohort

Aug 13, 2006

My number one on organization is to minimize daily. If you don't need it, throw it away.

If it's student work, grade it then either file it or put it in the returned papers box.

Have separate boxes/tubs for late work, classwork according to subject, homework according to subject, returned papers, extra copies of handouts, notes,etc..
    This way you can grab what you need.

Record grades ASAP! Do not wait. It builds up quickly.

Don't grade everything!!!! Stamp it completed and return or file it.