Organization tips

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by BES2010, Jul 25, 2010.

1. BES2010

BES2010 Rookie

Jul 25, 2010

Hello, I am a new 4th grade teacher. I just wanted to ask anyone if they had any tips on staying organized throughout the year. With all the papers, books, supplies, etc. I am naturally organized and have some thoughts in my head however i just wanted to see what others do.

My thoughts - I plan on getting lots of binders. A 3 inch for each subject and then a small 1-1 1/2 inch binder. The small binder will hold my weekly schedule/plan and my daily lesson plans for each subject for 1 whole week. Then the big binders will be where I put the lessons at the end of each week with all my notes and stuff. This way if I ever need to go back to something from a specific time of year for a specific subject it is there. Also all of my lesson plans for an entire year will be together per subject and I can reuse them or modify them for the next year.

3. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jul 25, 2010

I wish I had the energy to get as organized as I want to be! I'm trying to color-coordinate my resources, using file folders & envelopes in blue (ELA), red (math), yellow (Social Studies), green (Science), or purple (Health), with the regular manila folders being used for "administrative" files and student information. I don't use many binders, but I have a large one for my plans, and it resides just inside my classroom door, where my P and other admins can peruse it - I keep a "working" copy with me. Most of my stuff is stored digitally - at least everything that it makes sense to keep that way. I have a 500GB USB hard drive that I call my brain, and it goes with me everywhere I go!

4. CFClassroom

CFClassroom Connoisseur

Jul 26, 2010