Oregon ESOL

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by EyeoftheTiger, Oct 12, 2015.

1. EyeoftheTiger

EyeoftheTiger New Member

Oct 12, 2015

Anyone have any pointers for this test? I am taking this test Tuesday morning(10/13) I have been teaching in CA for 13 years and my family and I have decided to move to Oregon for the 2016-2017 school year. I am now having to take all the basic skills tests because cbest is not accepted. I passed the Oregon Civil Right (282) and Elementary Subset I (250) but missed Subset II by 4 points. So you can say my ego took a hit. This will be my first time taking the ESOL so does anyone have any info for me? It would be greatly appreciated.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Oct 12, 2015

Who's telling you CBEST isn't accepted?

4. EyeoftheTiger

EyeoftheTiger New Member

Oct 12, 2015

On the website it said I needed to take CSET. I was teaching before those were required.

5. MacGuffin

MacGuffin Companion

Jul 10, 2016

EOTT did you ever make this move from CA to OR? Well even if you're not around it may be of interest to others. I took the CBEST in CA and it was accepted no problem in OR just last year so I think you are wrong about that. Also I was awarded an ESOL credential when I transferred here that I didn't even know I was eligible for or had even requested! Apparently the CTEL I took down in CA which earned me a CLAD credential was transferred as an ESOL endorsement in OR, so you might not have to take any ESOL test at all if you already have the CTEL/CLAD in your pocket.

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 10, 2016

CBEST is no longer offered in Oregon as a paper-based test, but I don't see Oregon ever not accepting California's basic-skills test. I'd have a stern chat with TSPC (or whatever the acronym is - I'm a bit distracted this morning) about that.

7. MacGuffin

MacGuffin Companion

Jul 10, 2016