Opinions - New Seating Plan

Discussion in 'General Education' started by JimG, Sep 15, 2019.

1. JimG

JimG Comrade

Sep 15, 2019

9th grade math - 16 students in groups of 4 is what I currently have. Students were assigned their seats at the beginning of the school year. This is my first year having the students in groups instead of some form of rows and columns, and with this particular class, it has been a major struggle with some groups not getting along nor being productive, as well as getting every student’s focus when it is time for direct instruction. No matter what new seating chart I come up with, I don’t foresee it resolving all of those issues. There is also currently one group of students who work really well together, and one of them asked me if they could stay together as a group when I change up the seating chart. I told this student I would think about it, but in my head, I had already determined that that wouldn’t fly.